Holidazed and Confused.

The holiday season is upon us and that means another lions share of controversy about petty, time-wasting bullshit.  While people starve in the streets and sleep in the cold during Christmas, others have nothing better to do than complain about how offended they are about things that don’t have anything to do with them.

I’m talking of course about the infamous “War on Christmas,” a joyous period of time where Christians complain about how much everyone else loves Satan because we care to recognize and respect other religions and holidays.

This is of course coupled with the douche-bags on the other side whose sole intention seems to be fucking with Christian people.

This is one of those cases where both sides are wrong and should be endlessly ridiculed by anybody with a trace of sanity.

I’ll go first.

Christmas, and holidays in general, are likes pieces of art, meaning they only have as much recognition and value as a group or individual decides to bestow upon it. For instance, Valentine’s Day is a tremendous celebration of your love for another person, unfortunately many people don’t have love or another person and therefore despise the holiday.

Does this mean YOU can’t celebrate Valentine’s Day with the most attractive person able to put up with you?  Of course not, round up your favorite bitch and hit the town.  Just realize that the day and its meaning impact everyone in a way that is specifically unique to their past and present.

The “War on Christmas” has mostly been a media phenomenon proliferated by religious conservatives who apparently needed to find something to complain about during the most wonderful time of the year.

I don’t understand how anybody could feel that Christmas, of all things, was flying under the radar. Is anyone unaware of which day Christmas is on or why it’s celebrated?

The first one is obvious, but the second question is a little more complex. We know why we’re supposed to celebrate Christmas, but what about the millions of people who just don’t care about Jesus?  Are we supposed to stop them from sharing love and affection with their family because they’re not doing it “right?” (No pun intended.)

The real controversy heats up whenever a location either refuses to put up a nativity scene, or, GOD FORBID, replace the specific word “Christmas” with the more ambiguous term “Holidays.”

What’s the problem here?  Why the fuck would you stop anyone from putting up a nativity scene?  Do you honestly care that much about other people’s lives that you want to prohibit them from putting up statues which mean more to them than you’ll ever be able to realize?  Do you not understand the symbolic nature of a nativity scene?

I’m never a person who supports banning or prohibiting things that make a large number of people in our society happy when it doesn’t hold any detrimental implications to the vast majority of the general public.

Nobody is a more staunch supporter of Church and State, but I know when to pick my battles, and this aint’ it.

This is the very reason Christians (laughably) feel victimized, because of people trying to make a personal point because of their immature grudges.  Wow, cool, you pissed a bunch of people off by making them take down the publicly displayed statues of JESUS AS A FUCKING BABY!  You’re totally sticking it to religion, dude.

None of this would be a problem if people would simply stop worrying about other people so much.  If it isn’t directly related to something shitty in your life or the lives of people around you than what’s the point of causing a stir?

I’m not a religious individual but I don’t think denouncing other ideas is really productive or necessary.  Believe what you want to believe, whether it be with a tree, a menorah whatever the fuck they use for Kwanzaa, it makes literally no difference to my life.

However, there’s a reason this subject particularly irks me. The fact that a couple fringe “anti-religion” groups could cause a couple small problems and all of the sudden it’s a decade long WAR ON CHRISTMAS!!!!!!

Nothing is celebrated with as much focus and jubilation as Christmas. Is it really going to destroy you if someone refers to it as the Holiday season?

I personally believe it stems from the extraordinary sense of entitlement many of these religious people have developed in our country.  People are less concerned about celebrating and praising their own beliefs and more concerned with the actions of others.

It’s immaturity on the level of a siblings who fight over who got more Halloween candy.

What puts me over the edge is that many of the same people complaining about their “religious freedoms” were the  same people who desperately and passionately tried to prohibit Muslims from building a place of worship near Ground Zero.

How can these feel so WRONGED about the treatment of Christmas when they give absolutely no respect to the religion of other people?

It’s a two way street, and Christians have been running over everything in their path for centuries. The only conclusion I can draw is that anyone who truly believes their is a “War on Christmas” has simply lead an easy life with no real worries.

There are some families who will be in a shelter this Christmas, there will be countless children who go without a visit from Santa, perhaps some who will never even believe.  We should be worried about those people, not the pretentious, elitist extremists who want the entire world to cater to their personal beliefs.

Do you think Jesus would care if people put up a nativity scene or used the actual term “Christmas?” Or do you think he’d be more disgusted that his birthday is celebrated in a manner which contradicts everything he ever said or did?

Happy Holidays.

Author: SpencerHayes

Biting Social Commentary and Satire.

31 thoughts on “Holidazed and Confused.”

  1. Most people I know are far more frustrated by the consumerist “war” (that screwed-up un-Christ-like celebration you’re referring to) than people saying “happy holidays” or even when places ban saying “merry Christmas.”
    As it happens, I’ve been saying happy holidays because it feels too early for saying Merry Christmas, but it’s after Thanksgiving. Tis the season. However, right before Christmas I’ll start saying “happy Christmas,” and I’ll keep it up through the 12 days. I thought about it, actually, around the time I became an adult. And the conclusion I came to was that I’d wish others a happy Christmas because I would be delighted if someone wished me happy Hanukkah.

    Like

  2. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of Holidazed and Confused. The Frog Blogg . Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

    Like

  3. Holidazed and Confused. The Frog Blogg I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You’re wonderful! Thanks! your article about Holidazed and Confused. The Frog Blogg Best Regards Lawrence Schaad

    Like

  4. This is the proper Holidazed and Confused. The Frog Blogg journal for anyone who wants to act out out most this theme. You react so some its nearly debilitating to contend with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new twist on a content thats been statute active for period. Precise substance, just major!

    Like

  5. Holidazed and Confused. The Frog Blogg I was recommended this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re amazing! Thanks! your article about Holidazed and Confused. The Frog Blogg Best Regards Yoder Cindy

    Like

  6. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of Holidazed and Confused. The Frog Blogg . Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

    Like

  7. Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble. You are amazing! Thanks! your article about Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg Best Regards Lisa Lawrence

    Like

  8. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg . Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

    Like

  9. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is magnificent, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg .

    Like

  10. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg . Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

    Like

  11. Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re amazing! Thanks! your article about Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog BloggBest Regards Yoder

    Like

  12. Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re incredible! Thanks! your article about Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg Best Regards Schaad Schaad

    Like

  13. Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You are incredible! Thanks! your article about Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg Best Regards Cindy Andy

    Like

  14. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg . Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

    Like

  15. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg . Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

    Like

  16. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg . Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

    Like

  17. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg . Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

    Like

  18. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg . Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

    Like

  19. Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You are amazing! Thanks! your article about Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg Best Regards Cindy Yoder

    Like

  20. Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg I was recommended this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You are amazing! Thanks! your article about Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg Best Regards Cassetta Lisa

    Like

  21. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg . Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

    Like

  22. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of Holidazed and Confused. | The Frog Blogg . Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

    Like

Intelligent Comments Welcomed!

